Me? A Blogger? How Did That Happen?

The purpose of this post is to share how I became a blogger. Did I ever see myself as a blogger–ever? Nope–not in a million years. Not even at a year ago. Like I have said in previous posts, I thought a blog was a Dr. Seuss monster that hides in the closet or under the bed.  When I began my writing career at age 16 (about 1996), blogs didn’t even exist. Social media as we know it today didn’t exist. Then you had to pay for dial-up Internet and it was really expensive. It was the cool thing to go to a chat room or to IM someone after decking out your little IMer box. That was the social media of the 90’s, but it didn’t get very far.

I didn’t know what bloggers were either–were they the monster’s trainers? When I found out they were writers, I didn’t know what they could possibly write about. What do you write on a blog? I don’t think it’s anything like writing a book. I’ve been writing books for fifteen years already and short stories and poems longer than that. This was unexplored territory for me, but that’s not what scared me. What scared me was not knowing what goes on the blog and screwing up. I wasn’t too concerned if no one read it or not. If I didn’t know what goes on a blog do you think I would know how to find readers? I don’t think so!

Over a year ago when I had republished Neiko‘s Five Land Adventure, I was researching online marketing strategies. My new publisher mentioned it was a good idea to start a blog. I asked them for some info and I began to research on how to start blogs. From the written, how-to perspective it sounded really hard and complicated so I put it off. I did a couple guest posts now and then, but nothing too fancy.

After coming back to it I first try to start off with the Blogger platform. The signup was a pain in the butt because I was having to contend with the Captcha obstacle. I hate these things, but they must exist because of spammers. 😛 After two or three tries, I said screw it and decided to try WordPress instead. Setting up a blog was pretty easy. I decided to post the things that were fun or what was rattling around in my head at the time or if something fun happened.

I didn’t have a clue what I was doing. I didn’t know if anyone was reading or if they gave a care. It was fun anyway. I would also sit around and play with the features. That’s how I learned use most of them including how to share the posts, put tags on them, and more. It was pretty easy and I just started doing that just to see if anyone ever came by or what would happen. The next thing I know people start coming by and leaving comments. I start getting notifications that people liked my post or they are following the blog. Huh. That was easy. I had no idea where they were coming from. At least someone thought what I wrote was entertaining and they came by. That’s all I cared about.

In January of this year I am encouraged to start another blog by a fellow author and publishing professional. This is a more professional blog, but it’s another blog added to my repertoire. I took what I learned from this blog and applied it to that one. I have also been doing more guest posts and offered to write blog posts for business professionals for compensation after some encouragement from a business network. Next thing I know I wondered how it happened.

I never thought I would be doing this, but all I am doing is what I do best: writing. This is the only writing I do for grownups and it’s merely to write about something fun or to pass along information. I don’t write fiction for grownups. I’ve already written a blog post about that called “Why I Don’t Write Stories for Grownups”.

About AK Taylor

Award winning YA author who began writing novels at 16. I enjoy outdoor activities, beekeeping, rock collecting, coin collecting, writing, drawing. Book Website: www.neikos5landadventure.net Twitter: @A_K_Taylor Facebook: Amanda Haulk Taylor/A.K. Taylor's Books page
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

