Kickstarter Experiment/Pre-publication Drive

My new upcoming book Escape from Ancient Egypt has been sent to the editor, but during the time it is at the editor I was introduced to Kickstarter by a friend. I had never heard of it before. It is a platform to gather support for a project. Well, I decided to experiment with it and see what happens. This is my first round with Kickstarter, so I’m not pretending to know everything, but it works the same way as any pre-publcation drive for a book (or project). I will also note that this is really testing my comfort level in so many ways. I even had to make a video of myself. #egad It’s on the project page for your viewing pleasure 😛 You know what they always say, “What don’t kill you will make you stronger!”

This is also kind of like the pre-publication drive for my second book that I DIDN’T do for my first book–I wasn’t lazy or scared. I just didn’t know. Like I said in earlier posts, I didn’t know much about publishing or know anyone to ask. I have learned a lot since then and am anxious to try it on a new release.

The beauty that I already see from Kickstarter is that I am having to do what I would do for a release before publishing anyway, but there is some pressure involved–on me. If I don’t meet my intended goal then nobody wins. If I do meet the goal EVERYBODY wins.

Since this is my book and my project, it is my responsibility to bug people–er–share :P. This isn’t a one way street, BTW. To do Kickstarter you must reward people for contributing to the goal with a product of the project. If the goal is met and the people who pledge (at any level) get dibs on the first copies (print and/or ebook) of Escape from Ancient Egypt. At the very least, please SHARE the project link below.

I hope to use this platform to start spreading awareness and to help get more books out to more people. This is a good warm-up for all the other stuff I need to do after release. If I don’t meet the goal, the book will still get published but on a much smaller scale and nobody gets VIP treatment or dibs on first books.  For more info on rewards visit the project page (link below).


I also promise to list the names of the people who contributed in the book when it is published. I may do something more intersting other than the “Acknowlegements” section. #yawn Since this book is set in ancient Egypt and Ramesses II is the pharaoh, I can have “Ramesses’ Elite of the Court”. I will also share the names of the “court”  on this blog and do a write-up about my experience with Kickstarter  on my business blog Newbieauthorsguide.com. From the experience, I can help other people do this.

Project Page, Link and Info

Escape From Ancient Egypt

Project Link: http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/362431431/escape-from-ancient-egypt?ref=email (visit and share!!!)

  1. For reward and other info please visit the project page!
  2. We (yes we) all must meet the goal or nobody gets any dibs on first books with VIP treatment!
  3. Don’t forget to share! I can only do so  much on my own!
About AK Taylor

Genre crossing YA author who began writing novels at 16. I enjoy outdoor activities, beekeeping, rock collecting, coin collecting, writing, drawing. Book Website: www.neikos5landadventure.net Twitter: @A_K_Taylor Facebook: Amanda Haulk Taylor/A.K. Taylor's Books page
This entry was posted in Book Promotions and Extras, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

